Is Red Star® Nutritional Yeast the Same as Other Industrial Yeast?

RED STAR® Nutritional Yeast is NOT brewer’s yeast, a by-product of the brewing industry that has an inferior nutritional profile compared to primary-grown yeast and that must be further processed to remove the bitter taste of hops. Many people find that nutritional yeast has a smoother, more “cheesy” taste than brewer’s yeast, which tends to be bitter even after processing. Additionally, because nutritional yeast does not come in contact with barley (like brewer’s yeast), it is gluten-free and safe for people with Celiac disease.

Nutritional yeast is NOT torula yeast, a by-product of paper mill waste streams obtained by growing Pichia jadinii on wood sugars.

Nutritional yeast is NOT dairy yeast, or whey yeast, which is obtained by growing Kluyveromyces marxianus using cheese whey or whey permeate. Therefore, it is safe for people with dairy allergies.

Nutritional yeast is NOT an active baking or brewing yeast. It is an inactive yeast grown expressly for its nutritional components.

Nutritional yeast is NOT a genetically modified organism (GMO), unlike some yeast that are used in baking and beer and wine production.

More Resources